Tuesday, March 22, 2016

What is 10-bit HDR TV?

Already in 2015 and especially in 2016 most high-end models are compatible with HDR, but there are models called 8-bit or 10-bit.

What are the bits on a TV?

The bits on TV tell us about the number of colors (gradations) which can reproduce, the more bits, the more colors can be reproduced so that everything you see is closer to the original, more real version.
The truth is many years that there are TVs 10bit ago but can not reproduce that kind of colors so there was no significant difference. Everything changes with the arrival of HDR.
We recommend reviewing our post with: What is HDR on a TV?

What is a TV 10bit?

Most TVs are 8 bits which means that the TV is able to reproduce 256 color tones for each primary color: 256 tones of red, 256 tones of green, and 256 tones of blue. Combining them gives us almost 17 million tones.

With the arrival of HDR begins to make sense that the TV is 10 bits because this type of content improves Dynamic Range. The 10 bits can produce up to 1024 tones so the total tones is about 1000 million.

Should I buy a TV 10 bit?

The truth is that the content is still not available but it is true that TVs, only higher-end 2016, are ready to play the content HDR and 10-bit panels. It is a matter of time and some producers have announced that they are preparing content. Anyway the price of these TVs is very high for an average buyer and we think we should spend a couple of years for the mid-range models also include panels of 10 bits so only recommend buying this type of TVs to seeking the best of the better and we think that any normal user should not worry about the number of bits of your TV, at least during 2016.

0 Comment to "What is 10-bit HDR TV?"

Post a Comment